Athletics

Athletics Overview

Welcome to Bishop Ireton Athletics

As a member of the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference and the Virginia Independent School Athletic Association, Bishop Ireton offers students the opportunity to play various sports at a competitive level while learning the benefits of working as a team toward a common goal, and while building a strong sense of community. More than 75% of our students participate in a school sport and many of them participate in multiple sports during the school year.

Bishop Ireton offers 19 sports including football, volleyball, field hockey, cross country, soccer, basketball, cheerleading, swim and dive, wrestling, ice hockey, indoor track, baseball, softball, lacrosse, tennis, track and field, golf and crew. Additionally, there are three “no cut” sports offered (cross country, indoor/winter track & field and outdoor/spring track & field). More information can be found on the website under the team pages. 

Before a student can participate in a sport, he/she must have a completed VHSL physical.

Please note that the WCAC has a strict transfer policy in place.

Many Bishop Ireton athletes go on to compete at the next level. For a list of recent collegiate Cardinals, click here.

Select a Team

Athletics Staff

List of 4 members.

  • Photo of Dwayne Bryant

    Dwayne Bryant 

    Director of Athletics, Head Coach Boys Basketball
    703-212-5169
  • Photo of Ashley Perez

    Ashley Perez 

    Assistant Athletic Director
  • Photo of Jana Katz

    Jana Katz 

    Certified Athletic Trainer
    (703) 212-5171
  • Photo of Michael Roberts

    Michael Roberts 

    Certified Athletic Trainer

List of 3 frequently asked questions.

  • Varsity Fall Sport Head Coaches

    CHEERLEADING (Fall)
    Head Coach: Angela Hope-Eskew
    hopea@bishopireton.org

    CREW (Fall)
    Head Coach: Steve Hall
    Steve.hall@bishopireton.org

    CROSS COUNTRY
    Head Coach: Robert Artman
    bob.artman@bishopireton.org

    FIELD HOCKEY
    Head Coach: Avery Potter
    avery.potter@bishopireton.org

    FOOTBALL
    Head Coach: TBD

    BOYS SOCCER
    Head Coach: Jordan Clement
    jordan.clement@bishopireton.org

    GIRLS SOCCER
    Head Coach: Desiree Beruete
    desiree.beruete@bishopireton.org

    GIRLS TENNIS
    Head Coach: Tom Noone
    Noonet@bishopireton.org

    VOLLEYBALL
    Head Coach: Nadine Lilavois
    nadine.lilavois@bishopireton.org
  • Varsity Winter Sport Head Coaches

    BOYS BASKETBALL
    Head Coach: Dwayne Bryant
    dwayne.bryant@bishopireton.org

    GIRLS BASKETBALL
    Head Coach: Kesha Walton
    kesha.walton@bishopireton.org

    CHEERLEADING (Winter)
    Head Coach: Angela Hope-Eskew
    hopea@bishopireton.org

    CREW (Winter)
    Head Coach: Steve Hall
    steve.hall@bishopireton.org

    ICE HOCKEY
    Head Coach: Anthony DiCarlo
    dicarloa@bishopireton.org

    INDOOR TRACK
    Head Coach: Bob Artman
    bob.artman@bishopireton.org

    SWIM & DIVE
    Head Coach: Kaitlyn Gerke
    kaitlyn.gerke@bishopireton.org

    WRESTLING
    Head Coach: Greg Redden
    greg.redden@bishopireton.org
  • Varsity Spring Sport Head Coaches

    BASEBALL
    Head Coach: Kevin O'Keefe
    o'keefek@bishopireton.org

    CREW (Spring)
    Head Coach: Steve Hall
    steve.hall@bishopireton.org

    GOLF
    Head Coach: Paul Trimber
    paul.trimber@bishopireton.org

    BOYS LACROSSE
    Head Coach: Max Snider
    max.snider@bishopireton.org

    GIRLS LACROSSE
    Head Coach: Erin Hellmold
    erin.hellmold@bishopireton.org

    SOFTBALL
    Head Coach: David Pough
    david.pough@bishopireton.org

    BOYS TENNIS
    Head Coach: Tom Noone
    noonet@bishopireton.org

    TRACK & FIELD
    Head Coach: Robert Artman
    bob.artman@bishopireton.org