Athletics

Athletics Overview

Welcome to Bishop Ireton Athletics

As a member of the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference and the Virginia Independent School Athletic Association, Bishop Ireton offers students the opportunity to play various sports at a competitive level while learning the benefits of working as a team toward a common goal, and while building a strong sense of community. More than 75% of our students participate in a school sport and many of them participate in multiple sports during the school year.

Bishop Ireton offers 19 sports including football, volleyball, field hockey, cross country, soccer, basketball, cheerleading, swim and dive, wrestling, ice hockey, indoor track, baseball, softball, lacrosse, tennis, track and field, golf and crew. Additionally, there are four “no cut” sports offered (cross country, track & field, swim & dive and crew). More information can be found on the website under the team pages. 

Before a student can participate in a sport, he/she must have a completed VHSL physical.

Many Bishop Ireton athletes go on to compete at the next level. For a list of recent collegiate Cardinals, click here.

List of 3 frequently asked questions.

  • Fall Sport Head Coaches

    CHEERLEADING (Fall)
    Head Coach: Angela Hope-Eskew
    hopea@bishopireton.org

    CREW (Fall)
    Head Coach: Meaghan Reilly
    meaghan.reilly@bishopireton.org

    CROSS COUNTRY
    Head Coach: Robert Artman
    bob.artman@bishopireton.org

    FIELD HOCKEY
    Head Coach: Erin Simons
    simonse@bishopireton.org

    FOOTBALL
    Head Coach: Gary Wortham
    gary.wortham@bishopireton.org

    BOYS SOCCER
    Head Coach: Ahmad Sasso
    ahmad.sasso@bishopireton.org

    GIRLS SOCCER
    Head Coach: Lisa Alaoui
    lisa.alaoui@bishopireton.org

    GIRLS TENNIS
    Head Coach: Tom Noone
    Noonet@bishopireton.org

    VOLLEYBALL
    Head Coach: Bradley Lacey
    bradley.lacey@bishopireton.org

     
  • Winter Sport Head Coaches

    BOYS BASKETBALL
    Head Coach: Dwayne Bryant
    dwayne.bryant@bishopireton.org

    GIRLS BASKETBALL
    Head Coach: Kesha Walton
    kesha.walton@bishopireton.org

    CHEERLEADING (Winter)
    Head Coach: Angela Hope-Eskew
    hopea@bishopireton.org

    CREW (Winter)
    Head Coach: Meaghan Reilly
    meaghan.reilly@bishopireton.org

    ICE HOCKEY
    Head Coach: Anthony DiCarlo
    dicarloa@bishopireton.org

    SWIM & DIVE
    Head Coach: Kaitlyn McNutt
    kaitlyn.mcnutt@bishopireton.org
  • Spring Sport Head Coaches

    BASEBALL
    Head Coach: Mike Olerta
    olertam@bishopireton.org

    CREW (Spring)
    Head Coach: Meaghan Reilly
    meaghan.reilly@bishopireton.org

    GOLF
    Head Coach: Paul Trimber
    paul.trimber@bishopireton.org

    BOYS LACROSSE
    Head Coach: Patrick Young
    pat.young@bishopireton.org

    GIRLS LACROSSE
    Head Coach: Richard Sofield
    sofieldr@bishopireton.org

    SOFTBALL
    Head Coach: David Pough
    david.pough@bishopireton.org

    BOYS TENNIS
    Head Coach: Tom Noone
    noonet@bishopireton.org

    TRACK & FIELD
    Head Coach: Robert Artman
    bob.artman@bishopireton.org

Select a Team

Athletics Staff

List of 4 members.

  • Photo of Dwayne Bryant

    Dwayne Bryant 

    Director of Athletics
  • Photo of Darryl Bruce

    Darryl Bruce 

    Associate Director of Athletics & Director of Transportation
    (703) 212-5184
  • Photo of Ty Gardner

    Ty Gardner 

    Certified Athletic Trainer
    (703) 212-5171
  • Photo of Jana Katz

    Jana Katz 

    Certified Athletic Trainer
    (703) 212-5171