This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience possible on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Bishop Ireton Students Earn Outstanding Academic Achievements

Bishop Ireton High School is pleased to announce the outstanding academic achievements of some of its top students. The school is proud to recognize 72 Advanced Placement Scholars and two Semifinalists for the National Merit Scholarship.
National Merit Semifinalists

Mrs. Denise Tobin, Principal, and Mrs. Kathleen McNutt, Head of School, proudly announce Grace Fisher and Samantha Fisher (daughters of Robert and Lisa Fisher of Alexandria) are Semifinalists in the 65th National Merit Scholarship Program. Approximately 16,000 students nationwide have been named semifinalists, and they will compete for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. Students entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) in October 2018. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

AP Scholars

Bishop Ireton High School is proud to announce that 72 students have earned Advanced Placement (AP) Scholar awards from the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement (AP) Program exams taken in May of 2019. These honorees include current students and members of the Class of 2019.

The College Board’s AP Program provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP exams. Last year, 197 Bishop Ireton High School students took 406 Advanced Placement exams in 22 subject areas.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on a students’ performance on the AP exams.

National AP Scholar: Granted to students who receive an average of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Class of 2019: Annemarie Caballero and John Eastman

AP Scholar with Distinction: Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

Class of 2019: Timothy App, Hannah Blaha, Annemarie Caballero, Kathryn Cheney, Phong Van Dong, John Eastman, Teresa Esquivel, Neeve Graham, Andrew Holland, Claudia Klinck, Isabella Marra, Warren Payne, Elizabeth Riccio, Patrick Riley

Class of 2020: William Mueller, Melissa Nguyen, Franceska Padilla Coo, Doris Pallace, Sophia Rier

AP Scholar with Honor: Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.

Classs of 2019: Devyn Arora, Anna Isabel Asesor, Javier Chiriboga, David Fleming, Lyndsey Lawrence, John Markle, Monica McNicol, Robert Mereu, Maria Olson, Radames Pena-Vega, Juliana Schlosser, Marcus Thliveris, Katherine Wood

Class of 2020: Maxwell Dodson, Samantha Fisher, Caroline Keir, Sarah Milam, Eleanor Smith, Victoria Thomas

AP Scholar: Granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.

Class of 2019: Abigail Abraham, Duncan Beauch, Kaitlin Becht, Carole Beckhorn, Lillian Burling, Isabella Carucci, Cayla Corbray, Meaghan Corridon, Hailey Crow, Katherine Dyke, Anna Eleuterio, Elizabeth Gately, Corinne Gorski, Olivia Hays, Catherine Hiyama, Casey Hoffman, Alexander Leggiero, Luciano Mateo, Alexander Mitchell, Angela Nell, Kaley Rowland, Zachary Schultz, Riley Smith, Ronnie Vasquez

Class of 2020: Siobhan Chawk, Rebecca El Choueiry, Grace Fisher, Katherine Fisher, Julia Hart, Kathleen McNerney, Owen Peters, Rachel Schmitt, Peter Schulman, Patrick Scolese
201 Cambridge Road
Alexandria, VA 22314
(703) 751-7606
© Copyright 2019